Be Visible, Be Present and Be Accountable.   1 comment

Be Visible, be present, and be accountable – that was one of my first lessons learnt during University. It was part of our assessment and grading, to write forum posts and to openly discuss what we are working on.

Well, I’ve been hiding for a long while. It has been easier to hide than explain to the world what has been going on. It has been two years since I finished my BA in Animation and Visual Effects and now I’m going back to University for my Masters in Creative Writing, Publishing and Editing – another 2 years.

Truth be told, I’m scared of being visible; scared of people’s reactions, expectations and judgments.

I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain. – Dune by Frank Herbert.

No matter how afraid I am, I must face the fears.

However, taking constructive criticism in stride is another thing I was taught. I have been informed (as I well knew) that my current website is not very professional. At the time I wanted something up that represented me, as much as it is meant to show off my skills and talents I just wanted to express myself, as I am, which is, currently, a little torn around the edges, and eclectic.

I took the exercise in stride and created it at a friend’s request.

Which brings me to Marta and Daniel.  This blog, the website and me finally trying to be more visible, is thanks to them. With their support, guidance, friendship, inspiration and good old-fashioned shoving I am trying my best to create new content and display my wares.

Marta is currently undertaking an Illustration challenge, something that has been going on for months, 151 days to be exact. Each day she creates a new and beautiful piece which can be both personal and inspired. I am taking a leaf out of her book, with her blessing, to follow suit for December. I am going to create one piece per day to be posted on here. They are going to be simple and probably very basic until I get my hands dirty and start to feel comfortable. And no promises about polish.

Daniel had begrudgingly stated he would do it too and I hold him to it. The moral support if nothing else will be completely invaluable.

So the plan is:-

  • Daily Illustrations for December
  • New Website
  • Update content and visuals for this blog, twitter and anything else I’m playing with, with new theme and content.

I am currently working on a few personal projects and collaborations, while time allows, before University in February, just got to wait for some content before the fun of digital compositing begins.

Also hoping to do some photo manipulations, adding content into the images – I will put some visuals up when I have something more interesting to show.

So, Hello World as WordPress says, and welcome to my blog. If you have any comments please feel free.  My contact details are to the right.

Live long and prosper…

Love and Light.

Tia

– ‘Clarity’ – ‘Risk’ – ‘Communication’ – *

*Each day I draw three inspiration cards from a small deck I have, it’s meant to give guidance or something to focus on. If I don’t involve them in the blog itself I will just add them at the end.

 

Posted November 30, 2011 by Tia in Plan

One response to “Be Visible, Be Present and Be Accountable.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

